Music Korner – What Went Down? But What Went Up?

My digital artefact Music Korner, a TikTok project covering a review of Australian indie bands and artists with recommendations and personal insight. Reason why I developed this project was to further explore my passion of the Australian indie music scene, and to share that passion with other fans. I also someday want to be working somewhere in the music industry and this project helped me dedicate time to the sharing and developing of knowledge in the field.

Finding a Message

Based on the research of my target audience, I chose TikTok as my medium to cater towards short attention spans of young people, as it would be a simple way of viewers to expand their music palette. It was important for me to choose the right medium for the message shared so I was able to be perceived the way I wanted to.

@mostleymusic, @futureausmusic & @willtalksmusic; drawn inspiration

The development process I landed on was to film, edit through Capcut and post immediately. Through looking at other music TikTok accounts, I wanted to my project to have a similar vibe information wise, then adding a fan-like touch to my online persona, this was to achieve reaching an audience that enjoyed a personal feel in their content not something that felt overly processed.

Switch it Up a Bit

At first, I decided to make a whole new account dedicated to the project. However, after inconsistent viewership, looking at follower analytics, and when developing my project beta, I made the decision to extend my project over to my personal account as a series, due to follower analytics being fairly similar in terms of follower gender and location.

Personal account vs. Music Korner follower analytics

After this came a less manufactured feel of content due to it being intertwined with my personal content. The follower analytics also surprised me in regard to the gender split, as my initial audience persona from my pitch was for men around my age but then seeing more women following the project. Slightly changing mediums allowed me to feel freer with the content I was making rather than tailoring it for a more niche audience, making a valuable message to observe.

This also showed a steady growth in followers, contributed by the videos and the exisiting amount of traction on my page.

@kaiahern follower analytics with video checkpoints

I Like Your Style

I received positive feedback (although mostly from friends) over the editing styles used in some of my videos. By making videos with transitions and interesting filming styles, I was able to connect with followers through the eye-catching content.

@kailovesdeadshowws

Need some new punk in your life? Give C.O.F.F.I.N a spin! An absolutely ripping band with a killer live show #musickorner #vinyl #vinyltiktok #ausmusic #triplej #punk #fyp

♬ Fast Love – C.O.F.F.I.N

Due to low barrier of access, this was made easy to achieve through free access editing software available right on my phone. Although my experience is very basic with video editing, it was easy to further pick up and try new things making these videos regularly.

However, a barrier confronted within this process was being limited to time constraints surrounding other uni commitments, work and mental health.

What Did I Learn?

Overall, what I’ve learnt from this experience is that doing a digital artefact can be DIFFICULT, especially when the project is fairly ambitious. But through the type and style of content, and the medium I chose, it only further aided the process of the message I intended to share.

References:

futureausmusic 2022, Aussie Indie Rankings, video, TikTok, viewed 3 June 2022, <https://www.tiktok.com/@futureausmusic/video/6883817366677998849?is_from_webapp=1&sender_device=pc&web_id=7079256300525192705>.

Gross, J 2011, ‘The Medium Is The Message’, Smashing Magazine, 4 July, viewed 3 June 2022, <https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2011/07/the-medium-is-the-message/>.

MIT Media Lab 2019, How the Medium Shapes the Message, video, YouTube, viewed 3 June 2022, <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VsZQMaN5pYc>.

mostleymusic 2022, Top 10 Tracks New Music Friday 7/6, video, TikTok, viewed 3 June 2022, <https://www.tiktok.com/@mostleymusic/video/6985993146215763205?is_from_webapp=1&sender_device=pc&web_id=7079256300525192705>.

willtalksmusic 2022, The Essential Albums of Pop Part 2, video, TikTok, viewed 3 June 2022, <https://www.tiktok.com/@willtalksmusic/video/7042411656906919214?is_from_webapp=1&sender_device=pc&web_id=7079256300525192705>.

communication and media hardcore UOW video games


Discover more from Kai Ahern

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 responses to “Music Korner – What Went Down? But What Went Up?”

  1. ok pop off king pussy slay

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] will be taking some aspects I’ve learnt from my BCM112 digital artefact such as, rather than making a whole new account for the project, I will start by posting the videos […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started